On my way!

Written by: Alex Pietsch, director of Governor’s Office of Aerospace

It has been three months now since I began my role as the Director of the Governor’s Office of Aerospace and Executive Director of the Washington Aerospace Partnership. I really can’t believe how fast the time has flown by. I also can’t believe that tomorrow, I’ll join Governor Gregoire at a delegation of some 45 economic developers and industry professional in the United Kingdom to share the exciting story of Washington, the Global Aerospace Leader.

I can’t tell you how excited I am about the caliber of the itinerary that we have developed for this trade mission. We are meeting with the premiere aerospace firms around the globe and we’ll be making the case for these companies to do business with Washington-based suppliers and to expand and/or locate new operations in our state. With more than 700 aerospace related firms and 92,000 workers in the aerospace industry, Washington is home to the largest and most robust aerospace supply chain and workforce in the world. I am certain that we’ll be able to convince these companies that if they’re not already a part of it, either doing business with Washington companies or with a physical presence here themselves, they are missing out on a tremendous opportunity.

Like the Governor, I look forward to sharing my observations (both in writing and in photographs) and exciting announcements from along the road both here and in social media via twitter and facebook over the next two weeks. For those of you on Twitter, I’ll be using the hashtag #WAAero and the official hashtag of the Airshow, #FIA12.  

Finally, I’ll leave you with a video that was produced by the Department of Commerce and will be displayed on Jumbotron screens located in and around the Farnborough International Airshow site. Washington truly is the Global Aerospace Leader. Throughout this trade mission, we’re going to make sure the rest of the world knows it!

To view the video, click here.

Comments Off on On my way!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.